6 Comments

BURGEONING!


Isn’t “burgeoning” a wonderful onomatopoeic word!   It leaves no doubt about who it is.  This morning, after a confusing winter and spring, my garden is burgeoning. Doesn’t everything reduce in the end  to a poetic image?

The fig tree fairly bumped into me as I passed it,   One of the red camellias with which I had become terribly disappointed, and threatened to send to the ash heap, leaned out with lovely new baby leaves and an apoology which I generously accepted.  The weather here, as in most other places around the world it seems, could not decide which cloak it wanted from day to day , so the plants, like us, had to adapt.  But reward has been baskets of flowers and the possibiity of red juicy tomatoes in a month or so.  Dr. Advice has been planting like crazy to confirm his neighborhood reputation as tomato guru.  I envision an overabundance of tomato sauce, but I’m hoping for new recipes for other uses for them!

Tulips  w/c by KSR

6 comments on “BURGEONING!

  1. Mom, I love the way you write, makes me want to get gardening and make Spaghetti sauce. I also love camelias, they are so lovely, just like you!

    Like

  2. There he is!! Dr. Advice, a man of many thoughts and talents, a man whose thoughts are apparent at any time. A dear loving man..

    Like

  3. ohhhhhh Kayti ..How dear and glorious is this..So special to see a picture of Dr. Advice
    …..How Bob would LOVE this picture and probably want to share much with your guru..
    He felt (and so did I , of course, that he was a greatest of tomato guru’s)..He loved raising
    them…although our season up there was very short.. He finally saw that the cherry tomato plants did much better than anything else though.
    Your Vivid story of your garden is sooo well put..you have a gift, ,my dear!
    told you that already..hahah
    love,
    me

    Like

  4. Kayti, wow! What a LOT of tomatoes! They must taste like a slice of Heaven! I could sit and eat sliced tomatoes with salt & pepper all day long! This is so much fun to see Sam! I’m way behind. I have to catch up on your posts! This one made me want to go pull weeds. Haha! xo

    Like

  5. Mr. and Mrs. Green Thumb~
    How could any living thing not flourish in your tender loving care? Happy that the kids have turned the corner. Looks like a bountiful harvest.
    Enroute to Gram and Bubba’s Garden. Rabbit and Pooh would be envious. Thinking Spaghetti Squash and Homeade Sauce. Not to forget the fresh green onions from the produce fields that surround our acreage here in the valley.
    Rocky Ford Watermelon and Cantaloupe to follow. Oh how we love summer Produce and the Farmers.
    Love to you~
    Matt and Lisha

    Like

  6. Hi Kayti, hi people, glad to see you ALL again!

    Yes, Dr. Advice seems to possess many talents, and I envy them.
    A garden, as Lynn said, is certainly a slice of heaven.
    I none the less believe that also people are ‘burgeoning’. Aren’t you now – I learn from your latest post – a great-grandmother?

    Wow. My daughters … have to think about their own career at present. Better not talk about it lol.

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

