12 Comments

BREASTS AND BOOBS


As written by Jessica Yadegaran in the morning newspaper:  “They have more nicknames than you can count.  They even have their own restaurant chain.

Women spend  more than $1billion every year dressing them up even though they’re usually covered.

The attention we give breasts borders on the obsessive.  And in October —  BREAST CANCER AWARENESS month — they’re especially everywhere.

Why are we so fascinated with breasts?  Perhaps it’s the allure of the forbidden.  As Jerry Seinfeld put it, if women kept their heads covered instead of their breasts, we’d all be rushing to the corner store to pick up the latest copy of “Heads Illustrated”.  But that doesn’t explain why women are equally fixated.  Despite the recession, breast augmentation was the most popular cosmetic sirgery last year.”

Whether you call  them breasts or boobs, breasts are big business.

As a young girl of 13, I was quite poorly endowed, and took what were called “falsies” to a pajama party with several girlfriends.  They were made of foam rubber and were “one-size-fits-all”.  A curious little brother was told they were soup bowls, which we thought was an adequate explanation.  A year earlier, I spied on our voluptuous roomer demonstrating for my aunt and mother, the proper way to put on a bra.  She was a gorgeous tennis pro who ran around in her short white tennis skirt and made certain that my aunt’s boyfriends were aware of her sex appeal.  But she gave me my first tennis racket.

Much later, we were invited to a lovely dinner at a friends’ home, and the top of my new velvet dress seemed strangely empty, so I bought a new-style bra which came with an air valve, much like a basketball, and a straw through which you blew air into the balloon-type plastic cups of the bra until you achieved the size you desired.  Having done this, I entered the partying group, only to be told by one of the male guests that my “left side” was sagging.  It was the first and last time I wore the bra.

Maybe the answer as to why we’re obsessed is as siple as this;  “It’s an area of sexual attractedness that perpetuate our species.  And because 50 percent of the population is male.

12 comments on “BREASTS AND BOOBS

  1. Mom, that is so true, the avid fixation on the breast or boobs! We as girls and still young girls today, and also the guys, seem to still value and revere the “bosom”, It is a constant in all civilizations! why??

    Like

  2. Breasts are a symbol of life and a source of life hence the fascination they exercise through the centuries and all over the earth. Another factor is their form: the sphere is the most aesthetic form on earth and nothing has the perfection and soberness of a sphere.
    Even at my age well rounded breasts are nice to look at and with the current fashions and liberated mood of our women, at least up here, there is no lack of beauties to look at.

    Like

  3. Desmond Morris treats exhaustively of this topic in The Naked Ape

    Here are a couple of snippets which convey the general drift:

    “… If the female of our species was going to successfully shift the interest of the male round to the front, evolution would have to do something to make the frontal region more stimulating. … ”

    ” … this, it would seem, is precisely what has happened, with the females carrying a duplicate set of buttocks and labia on their chests and mouths respectively … ”

    Sounds like a good chat-up line, eh, Paul?

    Like

  4. I like the way you think, Richard!

    Like

  5. You are correct of course, Paul, which doesn’t necessarily detract from the sexual attraction. Quite interesting from an artist’s point of view as well. It isn’t easy to achieve the same size when manufacturing them!

    Like

  6. Ha ha soooo true and well put by all..That mystery is always there.
    love,
    me

    Like

  7. Kayti,
    The male fascination and attraction to our breasts is indeed evolutionary, as Richard observes and Paul seconds.

    Having large breasts always puts a woman out front of those of us with smaller breasts.

    As I have matured, I appreciate not having large ones which sag down and must be terribly heavy to cart around. I have several friends who have recently undergone breast reduction.

    Hooray for the smaller ones that still hang around their original placement.

    (That’s my defense mechanism, anyway… :D)

    Like

  8. I have a lot to be thankful for. One is that I didn’t get blessed with the boob-a-ma-gigger when God was planning my life.
    Boobless is a blessing when active. The only goods I needed to use he equipped me with. Muscles to run a shovel, rake, drive a tractor, ride horses, rope, play ball and exercise.
    I guess he decided that I didn’t need all that baggage to thrive in my environment…so he skipped me!
    As for your last blog. Enjoyed the read.
    Personally, I CHOSE to skip on the tat’s! I find them interesting. A Picture is worth a thousand words. Simply looking at someones ‘ink” can sometimes give us a glimpse into their life. May tell part of a story about them without them ever saying a word. Good Conversation pieces to say the least.
    Love ya Gram’s.

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

