3 Comments

BE PRESENT WHERE YOU ARE


Don’t Worry Be Happy KSR

I heard Bill Cinton interviewed the other day, and he made the statement “Be present where you are”.  When I was young I was accustomed to be where I was, because actually there was no place else to be.   Adults talked, you listened.  Often you learned information which you could use much like Saki’s cat, Tobermory did to disrupt the status quo if you were of a mischievous bent.

Today’s people, through the creations of Bill Gates, Steve Jobs and others, have made it possible to sit for hours within sight of other family or friends and not utter a word.  The ubiquitous cell phone, tiny though it is, has destroyed conversation as we learned it.  I expect to see arthritic old fingers made somewhat flexible by the constant movement engendered by texting still sending silent messages well into their 80’s.

I spoke to a group of women in their 70’s and 80’s some time ago, none of which had nerve enough to use a computer, but all of whom had cell phones, and most of them opted to use texting a a means of communication.  Amazing.  I felt out of touch because I genuinely like to “be present”.  Who knows what delightful things might come to your attention by simply listening.

I shudder to think of a young couple sitting side by side cell phones in hand, just as the young man decides to “pop the question”!

I don’t know about you, but I like to look at the person I’m talking to, and honestly engage in what he is trying to tell me.   Be present where you are.

You can make more of everything but time.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

3 comments on “BE PRESENT WHERE YOU ARE

  1. so true, technology is great, but I fear we are doing away with one on one time. I know, that I am very guilty of ‘texting while talking and also pretending to listen’ you are a wise and wonderful sage of a Mom and I am so blessed that i’m your daughter!

    Like

  2. And I remember my Grandpa who loved to memorize poetry and famous speeches. He would share them with a dramatic flair and I still have tidbits in my head. I so enjoyed listening to him. Where has the art of oratory gone?

    Like

  3. I agree with you Katy. I do not text and refuse to even learn how it’s done. I don’t twitter either.
    I may be old hat…but II love my old hats.

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

