1 Comment

YOU CAN’T MAKE THIS STUFF UP



This past two weeks have been a real doozy.  We’ve heard the Republicans and the Democrats tell us loud and clear about what was wrong and what was right in the country, and what they should do about it.  Well, neither of you are my fairy godmother, so stop waving your wand in my face.

I hate to break it to you, but politics doesn’t have to be a blood sport.  They have all been dressed up and out on their best behavior, but don’t forget, they are all  still just politicians out to get your vote.

Money dominates politics so as a result, we have neither democratic nor republican politics. (Note the small “d” and small “r”.)

The speeches have been typically boring with a couple able to tear me away from my book, but to tell you the truth, I haven’t heard anything I don’t hear at each presidential election.  There have been a couple of warm and sensitive speeches from both sides of the aisle, plus a handful of barn burners, but it’s  still the same old message: they want your vote.

A lot of people believe this stuff, but remember,  a broken clock is right twice a day, and nobody’s wrong all the time

My husband and I have been married 66 years, and we politically sit on both side of the aisle, Republican and Democrat, and I won’t say which is which, but it is obviously working quite well.

What works in the real world is cooperation instead of conflict.  We haven’t seen a lot of that in the last four years.  Conflict doesn’t work in a marriage, and it doesn’t work in politics.

,

What

One comment on “YOU CAN’T MAKE THIS STUFF UP

  1. This, my dear lady, is a truism and applies the world over but is seldom enacted.

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

