4 Comments

A FRESH LOOK AT TALENT


We are all talented at something, We can agree on that can’t we?

Unfortunately, we are often not talented in the way we would have chosen to be talented.

You may have dreamed of becoming a brilliant neurosurgeon, but you can’t handle the math or the knives. A major league catcher may be your greatest desire, but you can’t catch a beachball, and your allergies go haywire in the spring.

There are so many “perhaps”; we all have different dreams and sometimes miraculously, our dreams come true. So don’t get all distraught and angsty about it. Believe me, your particular talent is hidden in there somewhere.

Maybe it’s cooking, gardening, decorating, or just being a friend. You don’t get to pick and choose what talent you have. Embrace your talent, but don’t expect anyone else to embrace you. This is your own particular thing.

I will, of course, talk about myself, because that’s what you get to do when you write a personal blog.

I always felt I could have been a fabulous concert pianist, but we couldn’t afford a piano when I was a child, and besides, we moved too often to cart one around with us.

Some time ago .I was getting burned out with sculpture and had decided to stick to tennis, at which I was pretty lousy. About this time I took a visiting young man to his church, and listened to an inspiring sermon on the surety of everybody possessing a personal talent, and the absolute necessity to share it. I felt the message was aimed at me personally, so I went home and made a sculpture of St. Francis to gift the priest with. The most prolific period of my artistic life followed that simple sermon.

You can never be an artist if your work comes without effort.

4 comments on “A FRESH LOOK AT TALENT

  1. You can never be anything without effort.

    Like

  2. Loved this post, sent it to my friend Catherine, whose Mom is an artist. I wish I had a talent, i know you will say, I’m a nice person!! but seriously??? what is my talent!

    Love you travel safe my precious cargo!!

    Like

    • “What is your talent”?  I don’t have enough words or paper to tell you what your talents are!  Being a “nice ” person is the smallest part of it,but it is the part that fuels the rest.  You glow with the light of compassion,   you give love, hope and friendship to everyone who falls within your light.  You are generous and thoughtful to a fault.  The act of creating a piece of artwork, music, writing, etc. is something anyone can do with a little hard work, but what you give, lives on in the lives of everyone fortunate to know you, and it can’t be learned. 

      You are my own hero, and I am constantly bewildered as to how I got to be so lucky to have you as my firstborn daughter. I love you so much.  Mama

      ________________________________

      Like

  3. You are such a gift! And a rare talent. I bet the priest loved the St Francis statue. I so relate to what you wrote today

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

