7 Comments

A VALENTINE FOR MY HUSBAND


lovebirds“How do I love thee let me count the ways” Robert Browning wrote these words to Elizabeth Barrett early in the 19th century.

Have you ever sat and listed the many ways and reasons you love someone? It’s quite difficult isn’t it? It keeps changing day by day and as more and more time goes by, you find more and more ways and reasons to care for someone. The reasons won’t be the same as when you were in the first heat of competition for his affections.

I love you for your kindness, and for the way you remember and celebrate each and every tiny holiday. I love you for knowing that people would rather receive a present than a gift card at Christmas, even if it is a very small package. (Of course, diamonds don’t take up much room.)

I love you for caring how I feel, and insisting upon carting me to every appointment even when I would rather drive myself, when I’m shopping for groceries, (even Nordstrom) and waiting patiently till I complete my mission without hanging over my shoulder.

I love you for being cheerful, even if it is too early for me to wake up and I just wish the world would go away.

I love you for writing real paper & pen letters to all the kids and grandkids instead of e-mail. (You have been told that you may alone in doing this.)

I love you for seeing a problem and insisting on fixing it immediately, even if I might wait and think about it. ( Another large tree came out today and two new ones will go in this week. I would probably have waited a bit longer to remove that lovely plum tree.)

I love you for admitting when you don’t know something. (I don’t always do this).

I love you for realizing we are different and not caring.

I love you for proving that right and left brain people can live happily together without killing each other.

I love you for loving me.

The first Valentine I received from you was when I was sixteen. I had just memorized Robert Browning’s poem in Mr. Cummings second period English class, and fresh in the throes of first love. This will be the 68th Valentine, and those ‘fresh throes” are stronger than yesterday. Happy Valentine’s Day Dr. Advice.

“At the end of the day, only kindness matters.”

7 comments on “A VALENTINE FOR MY HUSBAND

  1. I love you both Thanks for being my parents Love u both U Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  2. Beautiful.. You two are so special to have a marriage like you have.

    Like

  3. So lovely, Kayti. Thank you. Happy St Valentine’s Day to you and your beloved.

    Like

    • I return the wish.  It  has been a good day beginning with chocolates, roses, lunch and a movie.  We saw “Life of Pi” which we both found quite wonderful.  I had read the book when it first came out, and ddn’t see how it could be a good, but it was.

      ________________________________

      Like

  4. So sweet ! Happy valentines day ! Love you

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  5. Ohhhhh Kayti, words can’t express!! Sooooo special you both are..
    Lovingly.me

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

