14 Comments

INTO THE BEYOND


robert watson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Richard Bigotti, August 12, 1944 – May 5, 2013 >~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
“Had I the heavens’embroidered cloths
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet
But I, being poor, have only my dreams.
I have spread my dreams under your feet.
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.”

William Butler Yeats


Oil Painting, The Bridge

Robert Watson

14 comments on “INTO THE BEYOND

  1. I really like the painting you posted, “The Beyond”. although I am not sure whether there is sadness or joy associated with your posting. As I was born in 1943 I found some discomfort in the Richard Bigotti post, but being here to read it is encouraging.
    The poem is one that has past inspired my own conversations with others as well. For children loved ones and friends it serves us to keep this in their minds, and carefully approach the internet with our dreams, many are not so careful with our posted intentions. Thank you for the nice post today.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reading. There is indeed sadness I the painting, as the name below is my son-in-law who passed away last week.† I think a†††† number of Yeats’ poems evoke a great sensitivity to loss.

      ________________________________

      Like

      • I am sorry for your loss. Yes Yeats” poems evoke much to loss, and lift us up in living as well. I had felt your post of the combination of the art and the poem might be a personal sadness, as so often your posts are of a lighter nature. Isn’t it good that the internet can also be a place to breath out some of the things the day makes us hold in? Sometimes a small word sigh can make a great difference.

        Like

      • How very kind of you.† Thank you.

        ________________________________

        Like

  2. My condlences to you, your daughter and all those close to your son-in-law.

    Like

  3. A beautiful poem for a beautiful man. We hold him dearly in our hearts.

    Like

  4. I join in the condolences. May he rest in peace and all of you find closure.

    Like

  5. I’m so sorry to hear of your son-in-law’s passing, Kayti. What a sad time for you and your daughter and your families. My condolences to you all. Nxxx

    Like

    • Thanks Narelle.† We will miss him so much.† I think I had mentioned that he was ill some time ago.† Yes, it will be hard for my daughter for awhile, but she is a strong woman, and she has many friends and family near her.

      ________________________________

      Like

      • I remember you spoke about Richard and that it was in the context of courage to face what he was facing. May his life continue to grow in meaning and bring comfort to your daughter. xxxx

        Like

      • Thanks so much Narelle.† She has a whole new life to create without him, and it won’t be easy, but she is a strong woman, and has friends and family to help her through the hard parts.

        ________________________________

        Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

