10 Comments

SHARE THE WEALTH


068Mama Mia” bronze sculpture by kayti sweetland rasmussen

It is St. Patrick’s Day, and we are invited to share a corned beef dinner with friends later in the day. When I woke up my plan was to make ginger cookies to take to my friend. It seems they are her favorite as well as the favorite of Dr. Advice and several others.

The recipe is one I developed a number of years ago, and I have been quite selfish in keeping it all to myself as a “signature” treat. Bad idea. After searching through the place it should be, and then all the places it shouldn’t be, it appears that it has taken leave of my home. Another sad aspect is that I was going to share it with you, and now I can’t. Always share your recipes with at least one person you can trust.

************************************************************************************************************************************

Of course I’m sure you are all aware that Patrick was not an Irishman, and he probably didn’t get rid of any snakes there either. About ten years ago I fell heir to a leopard coat (fake). It is really quite chic, and a friend of my daughter gave it to her when she tired of it. My daughter felt it attracted more attention than she was comfortable with, so she gave it to me, knowing my view that attracting attention is not a necessarily a bad thing!

Anyway, on a cold St. Patrick Day evening soon after the coat came to occupy my closet, I wore it to a “Potato Party” in Patrick’s honor. When questioned t became an Irish leopard coat. It followed that St. Patrick could not have driven the snakes out of the country, because the Irish leopard had done that before he landed. At least it gave me a good conversational opening to meet new people and something to wear to subsequent St. Patrick’s parties.

In lieu of the cookie recipe, here is my recipe for DILLY CASSEROLE BREAD:

1 pkg. active dry yeast
1/4 cup warm water
1 cup cream style cottage cheese heated to lukewarm
1 Tbs. butter
2 Tbs. sugar
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 Tbs. instant minced onion
1 egg
1 tsp salt
2 tsp. dillweed
2 1/4 to 2 1/2 cup flour

Soften yeast in water, let stand 10 min. Combine in large bowl the cottage cheese, butter, mixture of sugar, salt and baking soda. Next, the onion dill, egg and softened yeast. Beat well and blend thoroughly. Add flour gradually, beating after each addition. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled (about 1 hour) Stir dough down; turn into greased 1 1/2 to 2 qt. casserole. Let rise in warm place until light (30 to 40 min0 Bake at 350 for 35 to 45 min until crust is goldn brown. Brush top with soft buttered and salt. Bon Appetit!

10 comments on “SHARE THE WEALTH

  1. haha, it’s an Irish leopard you are. xx

    If you find the ginger biscuits recipe do post it. I like ginger everything and your brazil nut cake was great.

    Like

  2. How odd, ginger has featured a lot lately. I put it in almost everything except pancake mixtures. I buy it minced in a jar now as the fresh ones seem to shrivel up quickly. Yes, it is mysterious how things move around in the house even without ever touching them. I lost a pair of pyjamas, baffling me no end.
    I like the sculpture Mama Mia. She looks so happy.

    Like

  3. I shall file a formal request to my manager to make Dilly Casserole Bread.

    Are you sure the ginger biscuit recipe isn’t in a pocket of the leopardskin coat?

    Where did you last have ithe recipe? That’s where it is. Easy. Pure logic.

    Has Dr Advice had it?

    Have you been through your sock drawer? Not likely, you say? Well, it’s more likely to be in an unlikely place isn’t it!

    Is it under that large bowl over there?

    It’s probably right under your nose. Do I really have to come over and look for you?

    You could always ask St Anthony of Padua, the patron saint of lost and stolen articles. That always works. He has quite a cache of miscellaneous notes, but you have to believe.

    Like

    • I asked a good friend if by chance I may have given to her and she spent the evening going through all her scrips and scraps of recipes to no avail. If Dr Advice had somehow lifted it, it’s gone forever—he would NEVER remember. I will simply have to develop another. St. Anthony is mad at me. He never helps me for some reason. I will have to try believing. Do make the Dilly bread. It’s very nice lightly toasted too.

      Like

  4. Mama Mia’s got it! She has that look about her.

    Like

  5. For decades I’ve depended on Peg Bracken’s Elevator Lady Spice Cookies, from her “I Hate to Cook Book”. Here’s how they got their name.

    Once, in an elevator en route to my office, I was eating some spice cookies which I had made from a recipe in my big fat cookbook. I gave one to the Elevator Lady, and she tasteed it. “My,” she said reflectively. “I can sure make a better spice cookie than that.” So she brought me her recipe, and she was quite right.

    Perhaps this will help you out while you scout around for your recipe!

    Mix together:
    3/4 c. shortening
    1 cup sugar
    1 egg, unbeaten
    1/4 cup molasses
    Sift together and stir in:
    2 cups flour
    2 tsp soda
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 tsp cinnamon
    1 tsp ground cloves
    1 tsp ground ginger
    Form into walnut-sized balls. Place about 2″ apart on greased cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

    Like

  6. Linda, Cute story. I will look forward to trying these. I have several recipes of the ginger kind. The ones I developed had crystallized ginger, and none of the dry spices or molasses. I will just have to work on another. It may not be just exactly the same, but close enough. Thanks so much for the recipe. I printed and clipped it. Kayti

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

