11 Comments

THE SOUND OF MUSIC


red winged blackbird 2

It’s easy to imagine Rogers and Hammerstein hearing music pouring out of those hills, especially after a Spring rain. Niles is a lovely district tucked up against the hills in Fremont where I live. In the summer the hills are golden with dark green accents of oak in the hollows, where we imagine families of small animals congregate to pass the time of day until the cool of the evening. In Spring after a healing rain, shades of green challenge the painter’s palette, and herds of cattle appear over the crest thankful for Nature’s bounty.

I didn’t hear any music coming from the hills, but Julie Andrews would be happy to know that I saw this intrepid little red-winged blackbird hunching his shoulders and auditioning for a Spring concert.

Each of us, wherever life may have led, has something that sustains us. We won’t find it by looking over our shoulder, but if we’re lucky, it’s forever right beside us, waiting to be called upon.

You must have been warned against letting the golden hours slip by. Yes, but some of them are golden only because we let them slip by. (James M. Barrie 1860-1937)

11 comments on “THE SOUND OF MUSIC

  1. I love the red-winged blackbirds. We have them here, although they’re more common in other, more agricultural areas of the state, where millet and corn abound. When they first arrive, they’ll swing into the marinas in great clouds, and cling to the sailboat rigging as though it’s corn stalk. Such fun, to watch.

    The swallows are back now, too. I keep meaning to really pay attention, because it seems to me they show up at the same time each year. It’s always March, but I don’t know if the day is as exact as at your mission.

    In any event, the days are swinging into the new season just as they should. I find it entirely comforting.

    Like

    • I would love to see them swinging from the rigging. I’m not sure what date the swallows come back to Capistrano. Isn’t Nature amazing? I watch the migration of the geese and ducks each year in the Fall. We had rain during the night and things look so clean and happy.

      Like

  2. “The corn is a high as a elephants’ eye, and it looks like its climbing clear up to the sky.
    Oh what a beautiful morning…

    Thanks for bringing us back to the sanguine hills of Niles in the spring. Charlie Chaplin would be smiling.
    Love
    SB

    Like

  3. It has been a beautiful day, made more so by your visit. A reminder of the the place of your childhood.

    Like

  4. Lovely Barrie quote, will keep that one with me I think šŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I so agree about the Barrie quote. I miss redwing blackbirds. We had them always when we lived in our previous house which sat on water. Here in the country we don’t see them ever. I’ll console myself with thoughts of the many I do have! Lovely post, Kayti.

    Like

  6. I’m sure you have lots of birds we don’t see here either. Since I can no longer walk I am stuck with what comes to me. l will include some of the types we used to see. when I get my computer back. Luckily I didn’t have a lot of those pictures on it.

    Like

  7. What a little darling, Kayti ! – and he has such big eyes for a tiny bird !!!

    Like

  8. I just caught up with you. Thanks. Now STAY there. Don’t move.

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

