21 Comments

EVERYTHING OLD IS NEW AGAIN Kate’s Journal


Episode 35 Fremont, CA 1974

entrance Welcome to our house!

We had no great welcoming home party when we returned, and probably some people were unaware we had ever left. In the five years we lived in the Northwest, we forged a well worn path to family and friends between Kirkland and Fremont, so that technically we almost lived in both places.

What we needed to find first was someplace to put our stuff, which having lost Mrs. Peel, Tuffy and Rudy,now included Liza, a large German Shepherd Dog. I had thought perhaps to buy someplace where we could live and have a shop. I could work while customers dropped in and shopped. We would also have homemade soup and breads and maybe a cricket or two!

This did not work out so we bought with the idea of staying a couple of years while we looked for the ideal spot. Those couple of years have now stretched to forty-two!

Family Room Family Room

The DIY strain was strong in us after our building projects in Kirkland, so we built this very large room in which the grandchildren and I roller skated until we laid the tile.

Teaching at the City and shortly thereafter at the new College which had been built while we were gone, plus watching grandchildren were pleasant occupations while exposing two active boys to camping and fishing.

I began feeling tired. It was a tiredness which seeped into my bones, and which no amount of sleeping could alleviate. Finally seeing the doctor I learned that I had lupus and Sjogrens’s. Going to the library on the way home from the doctor and reading up on both diseases was not encouraging. There was no cure and I began feeling sorry for myself. I told my sister-in-law my tale of woe, and her suggestion was perhaps we ought to hold Christmas early. That snapped me out of it and I settled into a more pragmatic attitude. This was 40 years ago and against all odds I’m still here.

The only reason I am sharing this with you is to show you that you gain another perspective. As Gilda Radner of NSL famously said, “There’s always something.” As things turned out, this diagnosis was the first of many, and you begin to realize that everyone has something. You just keep going forward and hope you don’t trip.

Luckily, while teaching students marketing techniques, I formed relationships with several galleries to handle my artwork. We had always loved Carmel, and I found a delightful gallery which handled my work for years. It gave us a purpose to visit this lovely town often. The small folly in our garden, with its whimsical paintings and built by our late brother-in-law, is my small Carmel.

MouseMaus Haus

The City owned Olive Hyde building where I taught for so many years had become a fine small art gallery, and it was thrilling to bring in so many talented artists from all over California.

You never know what the world has in store for you.

living roomLiving Room

21 comments on “EVERYTHING OLD IS NEW AGAIN Kate’s Journal

  1. Another interesting post, Kate, that again reveals your optimistic outlook on life. I particularly liked this thought, “As things turned out, this diagnosis was the first of many, and you begin to realize that everyone has something. You just keep going forward and hope you don’t trip.” I, too, have learned that lesson and do my best to keep moving without tripping. Thanking you for so clearly describing something I had never verbalized but believe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I believe as we go along through life we develop the knowledge that if something cannot be solved or cured, our worry won’t change the outcome. In difficult times, it’s important to find something lovely in life. I am lucky to have so much that is lovely. I can see that you do too.

    Like

  3. We’re so glad you and Dr. Advice moved back to Fremont or we never would have known you ;-{

    Like

  4. And that would have been a great shame for us.

    Like

  5. We all try to control our lives to some extent, but yes, I agree that “You never know what the world has in store for you”. And I love Gilda Radner’s quote, “There’s always something.” So poignant when you realize she died at such a young age! And thank you for sharing your beautiful rooms!

    Like

  6. It’s always good to remember that whatever pain or discomfort we may feel, there is always someone else suffering the same or worse. Thanks for joining in.

    Like

  7. Kate, how are you doing today with your lupus? I enjoyed today’s read and I’m taking away part of the quote “You just keep going forward and hope you don’t trip”.

    Like

    • Thanks for your interest Brandy. I keep a close watch on all my health issues and my diet. Since I am also handicapped my exercise is limited, but through the years I have found that we do what we can do and don’t sweat the rest! Life’s too good to mope about a hitch in our “get-along”!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Great insight and thank you, Kayti. No one gets spared the things that make-up life. Both the good and the less good. I can see the kids roller skating through the huge lounge room.

    Like

  9. And there it is, the wisdom of the ages: “Everyone has something.” That’s exactly right. It can be a physical condition, an emotional trauma, a sudden change in social or financial status — but “it” comes to us all. Learning how to deal with it’s the trick, and it’s at exactly that point that the over-protectiveness of the millennials’ parents is coming home to roost. Children who don’t learn how to deal with skinned knees, getting lost, being bad and learning to take punishment, and so on, grow into young adults who constantly are seeking “safe spaces.”

    I wish someone would sell a bumper sticker that says, “The World Is Not a Safe Space.” I’d buy it, even though I’d probably prop it in the rear window rather than putting it on the bumper.

    My aunt’s best friend has lupus, and like you, she’s lived with the diagnosis for years and years. As she pointed out to her husband, many years ago, it’s better to live with a diagnosis than to die from it. And on they went. I’m thrilled that you’re still “going,” too. Your creativity and optimism really have made my life more enjoyable.

    Like

    • And YOU always make my day Linda! Your poetry, your photography, and your stories are such happy gifts.
      I like your idea for bumper sticker. So true, but are these young parents being protective for the right things? “When things get tough, the tough get going.”

      I’m glad your aunt’s friend is doing well. Her remark reminds me of one I have had occasion to use; “A good divorce is better than a bad marriage.” Not really the same thing, but I thought of it.

      Like

  10. Keep going forward and hope you don’t trip. So true for us all. Many happy memories, too. How lucky can a child get, to have a grandmother who organizes skating parties in her own home?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The photos of your home, both outside and in, are lovely. I am grateful to have spent some quality time in those rooms. Your attitude–about so many things–makes you one of life’s real stars, Kayti.

    Like

  12. What a beautiful family room, Kayti. A friend of mine was diagnosed with Sjogrens’s. How is it with you? She’s been learning to eat differently and it’s having a beneficial effect. No things from the nightshade family I think she said and there’s some surprising things under that sinisterish name.

    Like

    • I seem to remember a commercial which advocated “Better living through chemistry.” It IS a strange name.
      I’m glad you like my family room. It’s funny how rooms get named; for instance, do we really LIVE in “living rooms”? We live in the family room and except for us and Charlie, the family has gone. Food for thought.

      Like

  13. Such positive rippling of the cosmic fabric, by Kayti and by the commentators.

    Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

