9 Comments

Accidental Painter


 

        I am a sculptor/painter.  I used to simply say “artist” when asked what my interests were.  But long ago, a wise man when asked if he were an artist, replied “sometimes”.  I think now and then we are all

        artists.   I am a sculptor who paints.  I don’t want to hide behind paint.  My family history is enmeshed in clay from 200 years or so in England.  When I first smashed a wad of wet clay on a  

         potter’s wheel, I knew that was where I belonged.  Painting, on the other hand, was purely accidental.  I like people, and I like painting them, but sometimes it is frustrating when my brush refuses to

         obey what my eyes see.      I will be sharing photos from fifty years of artwork from time to time.

My other interests (not necessarily in order) are my family, dogs, cooking, nature, interesting people, classsical music, movies, the computer, and friends.  I hope you will enjoy checking in now and then to see my random life.

9 comments on “Accidental Painter

  1. This is a WONDERFUL thing for you…Congrats!
    hahah..I just learned that sculpting is ingrained in you.and that’s such a precious
    thing to know about your history..sooo happy..now I can get to know you even
    MORE over the coming years..dear friend!
    love you much,
    me

    Like

  2. look out Cheri! Pachofa is in the house- how did I get so lucky to have such a beautiful, clever, kind, talented Mom- I am a very lucky girl to have you as my Mom1 Good luck Mom on your new journey! I will look forward to hearing about your new journey- be kind to me in your blog! remember I’m your favorite child or I guess your oldest child!
    Jan

    Like

  3. I want to be the first person ( a little ego speaking) to welcome you to WordPress and to the blogosphere in general.

    Please share your secrets to living such a meaningful life.

    You have always been one of my heroes.

    Like

  4. Cool! Can’t wait to read more.

    Like

  5. Great! love it can`t wait to read more and more

    Like

  6. Kayti delightful reading Will also try your Soda Bread receipe.Very interesting reading….can’t wait till next time. veronica

    Like

  7. Offered as another facet to Accidental Painter’s easel:

    Use your web search to find Brian Greene.

    He has the teaching facility of Richard Feynman and Leonard Bernstein. He crafts metaphors
    to make the beyond-normal-human understanding understandable, interesting, and thought
    provoking. He opens doors.

    I’m reading his Fabric of the Cosmos and reveling in the connections that are appearing. The concept
    of string theory, especially that strings are the root of measurable or a least imaginable reality and that
    each vibrates in unique ways to produce what we perceive as the stuff of our daily existence, lurks
    behind much of what I’m thinking and writing.

    If you do search for this man, you will see a list of videos. Each is about twenty minutes in length
    and door-opening.

    I am fascinated by the correlation that appears to exist between all the sacred writings, lore, tradition,
    and culture-forming pronouncements/observations and the quantum soup that may be the matrix for
    creation. McLuhan’s comment that the artist (I am including in the term artist, theologian, priest, evangelist,
    etc.) sees the past sooner than ordinary humans seems relevant.

    Hopefully you will soar.

    Leroy

    Like

  8. Frosted leaves and buds,
    Frosted screens and windows, too.
    Winter won’t let go.

    — Lory O, April 2011 (04/08/11)

    Beautiful snowfall,
    But roses simply don’t like
    A whipped cream topping.

    — Lory O, April 2011 (04/08/11)

    At seventy-four
    I have the time and patience
    To admire nature.

    — Lory O, April 2011 (04/08/11)

    No other tactile
    Sensation is as welcome
    As flesh against flesh.

    — Lory O, April 2011 (04/08/11)

    Greene says that we never see the present
    because in the nanosecond it takes to perceive
    it is already the past.
    Perhaps the advantage of being old is
    that we see more of the past
    so that the future
    (what we call the future)
    is more predictable. …

    — Lory O, April 2011(04/11/2011)*

    * Greene is Brian Green (The Fabric of the Cosmos).
    This represents, in the form I’ve given it for non-poetic reason,
    of her beginning exploration.

    Like

    • Love Greene’s comment on the “old”.  My take is that it is really desirable, because you have so much more to remember.  George Wasington Carver had this to say:  How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong.  Because someday you will have been all of these.

      Like

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment.

